50 people to watch in 2009

I was reading a recent Newsweek article on the 50 people to watch in 2009. The list includes Barack Obama (of course), Valdimir Putin, John Lasseter, Osama bin Laden, Steve Jobs, but the one that caught my eye was Sonia Gandhi. I’ve always been intrigued by her and I have been learning more about Indian politics and history by reading her biography. The line that caught my eye in the article is: “In the world’s largest democracy, she is queen.” I thought it was ironic, but so true.

That got me thinking about famous people, and how in one year’s time, we will be reading another article on another 50 people (probably 50% different ones) to watch in 2010, and then another 50 in 2011 and so on. So ‘fame is fleeting’ and ‘life is short’ were what came to mind, reminding me of a quote from Richard III, which goes:  “Oh momentary grace of mortal men!” Indeed, the Bible tells us that our lives are like vapour. We are here for a very short while, and then we are gone. Nono, I’m not being morbid (on the 3rd day of the new year at that! =) but just a reminder to make the most of the new year and the new years to come. Carpe Diem as they say or ‘Seize the Day’! So for the new year, I must remember that I pass this way but once, so if there’s any good thing, let me do it – now.

~ by irwin on January 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
