I busted my New Year resolution!

Ok, one of my New Year resolutions this year is the same as the last 3 years, and that is: I shall not buy any more books (considering that I had to buy another bookshelf last month to house my books instead of having them all over my room’s floor) And yes, just like the last 3 years, I busted this year’s New Year Resolution within the 1st month!

Bought a great book which I have been searching for for a long time now. It’s called ‘A World Lit Only By Fire’ by William Manchester. It’s a book that always gets mentioned in subsequent books written on this period, which are the Medieval and Renaissance ages.  Somehow I feel a deep sense of familiarity and affinity whenever I study or read about the 15th and 16th centuries. I must have blogged about it before but the whole host of characters, events, plays, paintings during this period of human history is just amazing! And the title of the book is highly suitable: a world lit not only by fire literally, but also by the fires of religious zeal, of dynastic pride, of humanism, and of many passions.

~ by irwin on January 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
