The Light of the World

After writing my previous post, I went to read my Bible commentary, and realized that there is a famous allegorical painting about this very same verse by Holman Hunt in the 19th century. It’s called “The Light of the World”, and here it is:

According to Hunt: “I painted the picture with what I thought, unworthy though I was, to be by Divine command, and not simply as a good subject.”

When asked why there was no handle on the door, Hunt replied (50 years after he painted this painting): “There is a handle, but it is on the inside. The door can only be opened from the inside.”

~ by irwin on June 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
