The Big Cover-Up

Sometimes my mind goes off in many funny, inexplicable directions (see previous post on mind going off in strange places). The other day, when I was teaching ‘Partial Fractions’ in my Maths class, we came across this shortcut rule known as the ‘Cover-Up Rule’. For all you non-Maths geeks (unlike me, heh), see if this rings a bell:

And as I was thinking about the name of this rule, my mind started to wander to my car. You see, just a few weeks back, I actually knocked the side wheel-arc off while trying to negotiate a very tricky, narrow bend at a crazily-constructed multi-storey carpark. While remembering that my current car does not have a ‘backside’ (which makes parking such a breeze, trust me),  I forgot that my car now comes with big hips. And so hips touch side of wall = no good.

So there was a scratch along the side. Naturally I was $%#* about it, but after a while, I wasn’t affected anymore because all I had to do was order a new wheel-arc to cover up the scratch, and it can’t be seen anymore! Well, if I wanted to, I could spend more to repair the body and spray paint and all, but I figured the end result would still be the same. So rather than spending more money, I decided to just cover up the scratch using the new wheel-arc, and it looks as good as new again! And in fact, because of that scratch which I know is covered beneath the wheel-arc, somehow in a strange way, I now treasure the car more than before.

And then my mind wandered again. I began thinking of how Jesus’ blood covers all our sins. It’s not just that He removes our sins, or that they magically disappear from our lives. It’s not that we automatically start to lose the propensity to sin or even the desire to do so. Neither is it that our sins became invisible in the eyes of God. Rather, our sins (and indeed our entire selves) are now covered up by the blood of Jesus and what He did on the Cross for us. For by dying for us, Jesus took off his cloak of perfect righteousness and laid it upon us, so that now God sees — instead of the tangled mess of sins that we are — perfection in the form of an unblemished Lamb and perfect Saviour which is Christ.

I delight greatly in the LORD;
   my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
   and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
   and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.  (Isaiah 61:10)

Now THAT is the biggest cover-up of all.

~ by irwin on May 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Big Cover-Up”

  1. I like this post. Can I share it on FB? It is written on the day that false prophet Camping declared the return of Christ and bringing ridicule to Christ and His church. I would like to focus on Christ’s glory on the Cross

  2. Sure you can, Adrian! =) Thanks for liking this post and my blog. Keep reading. =)

Leave a Reply

 
