This is my Step #1

And we all need baby steps to start, so I am going to chronicle my journey — one step at a time.

Step #1

Genesis 1:3 – “And God said…” God created the heavens and earth by speaking.  There is a theological phrase for this: that God created the universe ex nihilo, meaning He created it out of nothing and by speaking it into existence. That is quite a powerful statement, don’t you think? I mean when we want to create things, we use bricks and cement; or pen and parchment; or Word processor and printer; or Powerpoint and clicker. But how do you create something just by speaking it into existence? But what is even more mind-boggling to me is the knowledge that this voice that spoke the stars and planets into existence is the very same voice that spoke to me in my heart this weekend.

I know He is the God of many things and many titles, but above all of these and for me right now, it is this title that bears most weight: He is the God Who Still Speaks.

God speaks

~ by irwin on June 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
