What do you seek?

I have always been fascinated by the word ‘seek’, especially in the myriad ways it is used in the Bible. For me (and most of us I suspect), the first verse that comes to mind is Matthew 6:33, “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” Interestingly, in my church, the ministry for connecting with people who have questions about Christianity and God is called ‘Seekers’ too. And recently, I came across this beautiful verse in Psalm 27:4,

“One thing have I asked of the LORD,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to inquire in his temple.”

The last two aspects of the verse speak especially to me because they encapsulate the two things that are close to my heart’s desires: beauty and knowledge. I think it is so wonderful that the Lord is constantly described in the Bible as beautiful for I believe that the the ability to appreciate the aesthetic beauties around us is truly a gift from God – a God who paints the skies with such magnificent technicolours and created the earth with an amazing kaleidoscope of wonders. And to be able to “inquire in His temple” is also something that appeals much to me for I have discovered that my primary spiritual pathway to God is the intellect – in reading about Him and knowing Him through words and thoughts. So through this verse, I shall seek to gaze and to inquire!

But I am also aware that what we should seek are not just answers to questions nor understanding the mysteries of the universe.  In John 18:7, Jesus asks one of His most important questions, “Whom is it that you seek?” This question still resonates with us today, reminding us that we should seek are not things, but a person. To seek God in the person of Jesus Christ. And even here, God has already given us a promise in Deuteronomy 4:29 that “if you seek the LORD your God, you will surely find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.”

So who do we seek today?

It's a promise!

“It is Jesus that you seek when you dream of happiness; He is waiting for you when nothing else you find satisfies you; He is the beauty to which you are so attracted; it is He who provoked you with that thirst for fullness that will not let you settle for compromise; it is He who urges you to shed the masks of a false life; it is He who reads in your heart your most genuine choices, the choices that others try to stifle.

It is Jesus who stirs in you the desire to do something great with your lives, the will to follow an ideal, the refusal to allow yourselves to be ground down by mediocrity, the courage to commit yourselves humbly and patiently to improving yourselves and society, makng the world more human and more fraternal.”

(Pope John Paul II)

 

~ by irwin on July 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
