3 Things I Learnt from my Niece

“And said unto him, Do you hear what these say? And Jesus said unto them, Yea; have you never read, Out of the mouth of babes and infants you have perfected praise?” (Matthew 21:16)

Watching my niece grow up these past 2+ years has made me see (and re-see) many things which,interestingly, are mostly revelations and reminders about God and His love for me. So here I share just 3 of these wonderful lessons I was made to discover again:

1. The 1st of these came in the early months of Elizabeth’s life. As I cradled her tiny frame in my arms, I kept picturing the baby Jesus in the arms of Mary and Joseph. Imagine this! The Creator God of the universe emptied Himself of His glories in heaven to come down to earth in the form of a helpless baby. If you think about it, Jesus in his early infant years was totally dependent on two hapless sinners. If they neglected to feed him milk or change his diapers, what would have happened? So, carrying Elizabeth and seeing how ‘helpless’ she was made me even more grateful that our Lord is an incarnational God, a God who chose to make Himself man that He might be Immanuel – God With Us.

2. The 2nd of these lessons came after Elizabeth started to walk and run. Somehow she loves to run away pretending to be scared when I start to chase her (ok, maybe she really IS scared! =)  So she would run all over the house trying to find a corner where she can hide, but knowing that I will eventually find her. In the early stages of this game, I would run after her and try to find her. But after awhile, I realized that even when I don’t run after her, she would eventually come running back to me and asking me to chase her again. And while I used to worry about where she might run to because I was afraid she might get herself injured, I learnt that no matter where she runs, I will always be able to find her because I know she can only run so far around the house. This little act of running and chasing and waiting for her to return brought to my mind the Parable of the Prodigal Son, who eventually returned to the arms of his father. Just as what the Word says in Psalm 139:8, “If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.” No matter where we run, God will always be able to find us. If not, we will always come running back to His everlasting arms.

3. My 3rd lesson came when I saw how much Elizabeth loves to run into my room when she comes over to my place. But her dad and mum taught her to always ask me for permission before she can enter my room. I realized that while I know why they are teaching her to ask for permission, I really don’t mind that she barges into my room. In fact, I look forward to her doing that! =) And somehow that reminds me of how it is written in Hebrews 4:16 that because of what Christ has done, we are now able to enter boldly into the throne room of God. And because I delight in my niece, I also want her to be able to just come into my room…anytime she likes.

So thanks to my niece, I truly learnt that God uses the small things of this world to teach us bigger things!

~ by irwin on January 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “3 Things I Learnt from my Niece”

  1. So cute!!!

  2. Cute baby.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
