“Don’t tell me you are STILL using a paper-and-pen diary organizer?!”

Erm, yes. That is often the kind of reaction I get when I whip out my handy paper organizer to plan my appointments and take down notes. Just when I thought I was one of the dinosaurs left, I came across this article in The New York Times – “A Paper Calendar? It’s 2011”. Have a read, it’s quite interesting!

Some of the bits that I liked most:

Mr. George uses a datebook that fits in his back pocket. “People make comments about it,” he said. “They show me their little technology. But then they sit there tapping on their device, and by the time they’ve gone through all the log-ins and downloading, I’ve already flipped the page.”

There’s something inherently appealing about its physicality, he said. “I am always doodling and sketching and making insane little micro notes to myself.”

The slow creep of clean and efficient technology and the managed life into the domestic sphere has multiple consequences.

This sorry situation had, of course, a solution, one embraced by many: convert to iCal, Google Calendar, Outlook or any number of other electronic personal-information management systems (as they are known to the trade). You can instantly update. You can sync. You can seamlessly integrate personal and professional into a harmoniously unified oneness. I would rather live a life of 1,000 missed appointments.

~ by irwin on January 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
