Why not be totally changed into fire?

“Pray as you can, not as you can’t.” (Dom Chapman)

Yesterday evening we had our 1st Prayer & Praise evening in church, and it was truly amazing to see so many people turn up for the session! =) I could really sense God’s Spirit hovering and could feel prayer revival working in our midst…

I have also recently been reading Richard Foster’s wonderful book on prayer elegantly entitled ‘Prayer: Finding the Heart’s True Home’. I like how he starts his book by the authentic reality for many of us that although we know the importance of prayer, we don’t do it. His 1st chapter opens with these lines:

We today yearn for prayer and hide form prayer. We are attracted to it and repelled by it. We believe prayer is something we should do, even something we want to do; but it seems as if a chasm stands between us and actually praying. We experience the agony of prayerlessness.

So the very 1st thing we need to realize about prayer is that it is about moving inward to seek the transformation we need. The movement inward comes first because without interior transformation, the movement up into God’s glory would overwhelm us, and the movement out into ministry would destroy us.

The story is told of a disciple who once came to a rabbi saying, “Father, according as I am able, I keep my little rule, my little fast, and my little prayer. And according as I am able, I strive to cleanse my mind of all evil thoughts and my heart of all evil intents. Now, what more should I do?” And the rabbi rose up and stretched out his hands to heaven, and his fingers became like ten lamps of fire. He answered, “Why not be totally changed into fire?”

A beautiful photo we took at our CG Retreat last year! =)

~ by irwin on February 4, 2012.

One Response to “Why not be totally changed into fire?”

  1. 酷!!!

Leave a Reply

 
