The ‘I Will’ God

In an earlier post (here), I penned some of my thoughts on the ‘I AM’ God.  And during last Sunday’s sermon, I realized that while His eternal existence and ontology is captured in these two words,  another facet of God’s character is encapsulated in another two words, and these words are: “I will”.

Where did I see this? In Exodus 5, after Moses confronted Pharaoh for the first time. Armed with confidence of God’s promise to deliver the Israelites and emboldened by God’s power as seen in the miracles that God had performed, Moses entered Pharoah’s court and asked for Pharoah to let God’s people go. Yet, not only did Pharaoh deny Moses’ request, Pharaoh responded by imposing even harsher labour on the Israelites. Rebuffed by Pharoah and scolded by the Israelites, a dejected and confused Moses turned to God asking these words:

“Why, Lord, why have you brought trouble on this people? Is this why you sent me? Ever since I went to Pharaoh to speak in your name, he has brought trouble on this people, and you have not rescued your people at all.” (Exodus 5:22)

images

Now, we must recall that Moses took up the job of delivering the Israelites only very reluctantly. At the burning bush, standing in front of the Most High God, Moses tried his best to wiggle his way out of the immense task that God has entrusted to him . It was only after God met and answered each and every one of his excuses that Moses agreed to go to Pharaoh.

And then Pharoah said no.

But the story is not over yet! In response to Moses’ questioning, God said these wonderful words:

“Therefore, say to the Israelites: ‘I am the Lord, and I will bring you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. I will free you from being slaves to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with mighty acts of judgment. I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the Lord your God, who brought you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. And I will bring you to the land I swore with uplifted hand to give to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob. I will give it to you as a possession. I am the Lord.’” (Exodus 6: 6-8)

Thus, while Moses said ‘I can’t’, and while Pharaoh said ‘I won’t’, God said ‘I will’.

Our God is a covenant-keeping God and ‘I will’ tell me that whatsoever He promised in the past, whatsoever He promises today, He will see it to pass in the future!

~ by irwin on March 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
